Mr Rajesh R Shah from the Jain community was appointed as the new President at the IRO Annual General Meeting held on 29 August 2021.

Mr Rajesh has been a life member of the IRO since 2006 when the Jain faith joined IRO as the the 10th constituent religion. He was nominated as an IRO Council Member in 2017 and served in various capacities on the Council, namely Asst Treasurer 2018-19, Asst Secretary 2019-20, and Vice President 2020-21. He has also been involved in the Digital Initiative sub-committee since 2019 and has been part of the organising committee for IRO’s 70th Anniversary Celebrations in 2019.

Mr Rajesh has been involved in Interfaith work since young. His journey started as a Youth Member of the Singapore Jain Religious Society (SJRS) in the 1980s and as a Management Committee Member from 1992 to the present. He held various posts and was President of SJRS for two terms, 2015-16 and 2016-17. In 2015, under his stewardship, SJRS celebrated SG50 with its Chinese and Muslim neighbours.

As the President for IRO for the office term 2021-2022, Mr Rajesh plans to continue the momentum of past initiatives and programs set in motion by previous Presidents while putting into action new initiatives that will carry IRO forward for the next many years.

Beyond gatherings that bring together people of different faiths, we must update, refresh and reposition the way IRO engages with the people of Singapore, especially the youths. We need to work harder to build trust and respect between people of different faiths and extend IRO's outreach to various stakeholders in the community.

Mr Rajesh R Shah, President for IRO Office Term 2021-2022on 29 August 2021 at the IRO Annual General Meeting

Past Presidents

Mr Tan Thiam Lye
Venerable Seck Kwang Phing
Mr. Ben J Benjamin
Mr. K Kesavapany
Ervad Rustom Ghadiali
Mr Foo Check Woo
Mr Gurmit Singh
Mr Noor Marican
Sr Maria Lau Wai Leng
Mr Ashvin Desai
Mr Tan Thiam Lye